Friday, August 24, 2007

All-Time Gold Glove Team

A couple of days ago, Rawlings announced their all-time Gold Glove team. They are by position:
pitchers (tie): Greg Maddux and Jim Kaat

catcher: Johnny Bench

1st base: Wes Parker

2nd base: Joe Morgan

3rd base: Brooks Robinson

shortstop: Ozzie Smith

outfield: Willie Mays

outfield: Ken Griffey, Jr.

outfield: Roberto Clemente

As someone that's been around almost as long as Gold Gloves have been issued, I've seen at one time or another on TV all the players mentioned field their positions. And all of them (in my humble opinion) except one deserve to be on the team.

The one exception is 1st baseman Wes Parker. Why? While he played for the Los Angeles Dodgers his entire career, he only played for 9 seasons and received 6 Gold Gloves. Parker beat out Keith Hernandez and Don Mattingly, which I think either of them would have been a much better choice. Especially Hernandez, who won 11 consecutive Gold Gloves from 1978 to 1988. Even Mattingly had more Gold Gloves than Parker at 9.

Well, Rawlings, if you based the all-time team strictly on the number of Gold Gloves awarded, I'm not sure everyone mentioned would be on it, including Mr. Parker. Someone in his fan club really stuffed the ballot box.

No comments: